A Beach Metaphor for 2012: Don’t Get Caught in the Blast of the Mind Web

Obama, Bush before him. Blair. Now Gordon Brown.

Empire of Illusion: The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle

By Chris Hedge

Pulitzer prize–winner Chris Hedges charts the dramatic and disturbing rise of a post-literate society that craves fantasy, ecstasy and illusion.

Chris Hedges argues that we now live in two societies: One, the minority, functions in a print-based, literate world, that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other, a growing majority, is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. In this “other society,” serious film and theatre, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins.

In the tradition of Christopher Lasch’s The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman’s Amusing Ourselves to Death, Hedges navigates this culture — attending WWF contests as well as Ivy League graduation ceremonies — exposing an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.

Malignant Self-Love: Narcissism Revisited

By Sam Vaknin

The book helps you in your interaction with such people. Narcissistic disorder people have no empathy and all the love you give them disappears in the huge gap of their addiction to the “narcissistic supply”. When all goes wrong its crucial to remember its not your fault. A great book.

You’ll feel down. Depressed. It will seem like the world is coming to an end and there is no hope. But you’ll be lost in the blast of the mind web. This wave of narcissism is rising to a crescendo as the wave hits land it climbs to the terrifying narcissistic cocaine orgy that is now. The wave bears down on you …

SURF !

Don’t wipeout ! The wave has reached the beach and will soon come crashing down. What you feel is a trance, a hypnosis created by those who can only see their own reflection.

When we practice to deceive, oh what a tangled web we weave !

Advertisements

One thought on “A Beach Metaphor for 2012: Don’t Get Caught in the Blast of the Mind Web

  1. Pingback: I Don’t Want to be a Misanthrope « DJ'ing, Music, Humour, Life

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s