Using GCStar to Catalog Video Game and Music Collections

I’ve been cataloging my video games with GCStar. I started doing this with my vinyl as well which is helping me to repair my memory of the records. My memory of them was damaged by forced drugging of me between 2003 and 2006 with chemical weapon pharmaceuticals.

You need the latest version which is only available for Linux at the moment. A windows version should be available soon. GCStar makes cataloging very easy because you can just type in the title of game or record then hit return a couple of times and all the fields are filled for you. hopefully someone will write a rom/emulation search plugin soon as well.

There are other catalog creators out there but this is the one I’ve found that has …

1. Freedom as in it’s open source.

2. A simple interface that is not confusing.

Leave a Reply

